National Curriculum

The curriculum incorporates the statutory requirements of the new  National Curriculum 2014 for Primary Schools. The changes made to the curriculum are aimed at ensuring that all pupils at the school receive a broad and balanced curriculum that prepares them for life in modern day Britain.

The changes affect all curriculum areas with children expected to reach higher standards in Maths and English.


The English Curriculum

There is an increased emphasis on the technical aspects of language. The curriculum is set out year by year in Key Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2) and two-yearly in Key Stage 2 (Years 3 and 4 and Years 5 and 6). There is specific content to be covered in the areas of spelling and vocabulary, grammar and punctuation.


Using Quality Texts

Finding good, quality literature for your children is important in setting a strong foundation in reading and developing values. Books help children expand their vocabulary and learn to deal with life’s problems and also teach them about the world around them. Statistics show that good readers are more successful in life than non-readers, so promoting a fondness in reading is an important step in helping children grow.

A book must be worth talking about. Good, quality literature also inspires children to write. Each half term staff will be choosing good, quality texts to be at the heart of the learning. On many occasions, these texts will link to other areas of learning for that half term.


The Maths Curriculum

The main areas in the new Mathematics curriculum number (place value, addition, subtraction, multiplication, division and fractions including decimals and percentages), measurement, geometry (properties of shapes andposition and direction), statistics, ratio, proportion and algebra. Every year group has its own programme of study detailing what the children should be able to achieve in each area.


The Science Curriculum

The new curriculum for Science puts a greater focus on acquiring scientific knowledge, and less emphasis on developing scientific skills and understanding.



There are significant changes in the curriculum for History. In Key Stage 1 children will learn about the lives of significant people. In Key Stage 2 there will be an emphasis on developing chronology with the children studying History up to 1066. There will also be special studies which will extend their knowledge and understanding beyond 1066.



Another area of the curriculum which is set to change a great deal is Computing. The emphasis will be on children being able to use and understand programming, develop their digital literacy as well as their understanding of safe internet use.

The programmes of study for each subject area can be found on:



Ages and Stages of Educations in England

Stage                                                            Child’s age                    Year Groups

Early Years Foundation Stage  1             3 – 4                               Nursery/FS1

Early Years Foundation Stage  2             4 – 5                               Reception/FS2

Key stage 1                                                   5 to 7                             Year 1 and 2

Key stage 2                                                   7 to 11                           Year 3, 4, 5 and 6

Contact Us

Firs Primary School
Raven Street
DE22 3WA
Telephone: 01332 346230
Fax: 01332 200782

Latest News and Events